The results of forwarding a Virtru email will be a little different depending on the specific scenario. Please see the different scenarios and their outcomes below:
- A secure message is forwarded without Virtru enabled:
- Without Virtru encryption enabled while forwarding, the new recipient cannot be added to the existing secure policy and will not have access to the content. The new recipient needs to be added to the secure policy so that the original recipient can monitor to whom the email was forwarded, and revoke access if necessary.
- A secure message is forwarded with Virtru enabled to a non-Virtru using recipient:
- If a secure message is forwarded - with Virtru encryption enabled - to a recipient who reads the email in our Secure Reader, the new recipient can only view the latest entry in the thread. The Secure Reader does not support full threads and will instead show the message "This email chain has been secured by Virtru."
- A secure message is forwarded with Virtru enabled to another Virtru user:
- If both the forwarding user and the new recipient use Virtru, the new recipient is added to the existing secure policy and will have access to the entire forwarded thread. The original sender will be able to see that this message has been forwarded by checking the forwarding tree in the Virtru Dashboard, allowing the revocation of their message.
Note: If the original sender has enabled Virtru's Disable Forwarding feature, no new recipients will have access to the email if forwarded. The email itself can still be forwarded, but the new recipients will be denied access to the decryption keys, blocking their ability to view the contents of the email.